Archbishop Smith elected CCCB President

On the second day of its meeting, the Plenary Assembly of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) elected Archbishop Richard Smith of Edmonton as its next President and Archbishop-elect Paul-AndrĂ© Durocher of Gatineau as the next Vice President. The incoming CCCB Executive will also include two Co-Treasurers: from the English Sector, Bishop Douglas Crosby, O.M.I., of Hamilton, and from the French Sector Bishop Lionel Gendron, P.S.S., of Saint-Jean-Longueuil. This will be Bishop Crosby’s second term as Co-Treasurer and Bishop Gendron’s first.

Read more